Does anyone have SiriusXM TravelLink on their MTC? - Maserati Ghibli Forum
User Tag List

 8Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-05-2014, 07:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Does anyone have SiriusXM TravelLink on their MTC?

It's mentioned in the MTC guide, but my Premium radio head does not have it. The SiriusXM rep confirmed that my radio doesn't support it.

Radios that do support it have a 'more' button on the bottom row of buttons, where the 'settings' button is on my radio.

Too bad because I had it on my last car, and I really liked the weather radar and gas prices.
bekrawa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-12-2014, 04:53 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
It does have TravelLink.

I had the same issue as yours. Sirius rep told me the car doesn't support it. But it actually does. Just call Sirius again and insist that your dealer told you Ghibli support traffic link. They will enable the service for you.
Wrecked Em and bekrawa like this.
helloarthur is offline  
post #3 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-12-2014, 09:11 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Interesting. Do you have the Premium unit? How do you access it once it's activated? Is there a sub-menu that becomes available?
bekrawa is offline  
 
post #4 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-12-2014, 10:04 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Update - I just got off the phone with SiriusXM. After consulting with a couple of supervisors, they agreed to activate traffic-only - despite a complete lack of evidence that the radio actually supports it - and it works. I now have traffic highlighting on the major roads, along with construction. When I navigate to a destination, it shows an icon on the map that I can press to get details of traffic incidents along the route. Now if I can just get weather radar and fuel prices, I'll be at the same level of service as my $30,000 car.
BryonM likes this.
bekrawa is offline  
post #5 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 10:56 PM
Member
 
vanzunator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekrawa View Post
Update - I just got off the phone with SiriusXM. After consulting with a couple of supervisors, they agreed to activate traffic-only - despite a complete lack of evidence that the radio actually supports it - and it works. I now have traffic highlighting on the major roads, along with construction. When I navigate to a destination, it shows an icon on the map that I can press to get details of traffic incidents along the route. Now if I can just get weather radar and fuel prices, I'll be at the same level of service as my $30,000 car.
Hi,
Does TravelLink require its own subscription? or did you get it activated as part of 1 year free included SiriusXM subscription?

Regards,
vanzunator is offline  
post #6 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-13-2014, 11:29 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
It's separate. I transferred my current subscriptions (one for the radio service and one for the Travel Link service) from my last car, but I had full Travel Link on that car. The Ghibli only supports traffic, so now I'm only paying for the traffic portion of the Travel Link service, which they quoted as $3.99/month.
bekrawa is offline  
post #7 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-29-2014, 01:34 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I just called Sirius and had travel link added after much resistance. Asking for a supervisor seems to have solved it and I see they added it now. Now I just need to test it and see if the posts above are accurate and that it works.

Once that is solved, then I just need to figure out why my Sirius signal is constantly going in and out while I am driving the car. I noticed a few others posted that they were having similar issues.
BryonM is offline  
post #8 of 56 (permalink) Old 03-30-2014, 11:49 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Yes, please post your findings. The replacement satellite antennas will be at the dealerships in a few weeks.
bekrawa is offline  
post #9 of 56 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 07:11 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
I was in my car today and was not able to tell whether or not the traffic that was activated was working. I tried plugging in directions, and it was during rush hour, but it did not seem to adjust travel time based on travel conditions. If someone knows how I am supposed to tell if it is active, please let me know.
BryonM is offline  
post #10 of 56 (permalink) Old 04-02-2014, 08:49 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
If it's working, it will show traffic incidents along the route, along with delays due to traffic. If enabled on the MTC, it will speak delays due to traffic, and tell you if your current route is still the fastest. There will be a soft button in the upper-left of the *map view* with two cars as the icon. This is for traffic. It will turn red if there are major traffic incidents in your vicinity. When you press the traffic soft button, you will see accidents and construction listed down the right side of the screen, with the option to click for more details. There will also be an option to view traffic conditions, which displays the street map with major roads (mostly highways) color-coded for traffic flow. You will need to zoom out, and pan around on the map to see a wider area. The color-coding follows the usual green (good) through red (bad) scheme.

So, there are several ways to confirm that traffic is enabled, and not all require that you plug in a route.

Hope this helps.

Last edited by bekrawa; 04-02-2014 at 08:53 PM.
bekrawa is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.