Maserati Ghibli Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I leased a MY 15 Ghibli in late November, 2015 and have passed my first 18 months. I'm no professional car reviewer, but my experiences may help those looking at the Ghibli as a used car or ones that are concerned about reliability. My review is strictly how the Ghibli holds up as a daily driver. To me, it's a surprisingly practical sports car. Complaints about "bin parts" I find ridiculous. You don't buy a Maserati for the nav or entertainment system. So what if the Nav is out of a Dart. It works. If the Italians built one on their own, it would look great, have problems and substantially increase the price of the car. I would rather have them focus on what they're good at- engines and design and buy the rest. If there were no way to take out cost, a lot of people would never drive this car including me.

My car is a fully loaded version SQ4 with an original sticker price of $94k. Current mileage is 16,300. I did the recommended service campaigns which were fewer in number than my two previous BMWs. I did have an issue with my springs. The dealer switched all four with new springs from Italy. I think that issue has gone away now with the newer cars. I still scrape those fork shaped flaps on the front once and a while but nothing like it used to. I've had one oil change (service) at the dealer which cost $500. Because of where I live, I added a set of Pirelli Sotozero 3 tires on Maser takeoff rims found on ebay. The snow tire wheels are 18" instead of 20" to give more tire height in the wheel well. Bad potholes can bend a rim. The traction of the Ghilbi in the snow is better than my previous BMW X drive. At 16,000 miles, my brake pads are 50% and my all season summers are probably the same. All the buttons and knobs are in place and nothing has just fallen apart. I kind of would expect some of that with an Italian brand but here, no surprises.