Maserati Ghibli Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased a 2014 Maserati Ghibli and the fuel gauge level I can't figure out.
Is this a known issue?
It showed little over 1/2 tank, dropped to 1/4 (68 miles left) then dropped to 40 miles left. All within 20 minutes of total driving. Then bounced back to 60 miles left. All on level surfaces.
Then I went to fill it up, as it said 1/4 tank. I put in 10 gallons and the pump stopped. The gauge reads 3/4 tank.
???????
I don't know what octane level was in it before, but it now has 93.

What could cause this? Do these have bad sending units, or could it be software related.

Thanx in advance. I'm a newbie :)

·
Registered
542 Posts
octane wouldn't be any part of your issue.
it is possible the level sender is going out, as well as the pump itself not transferring from side to side of the saddle tank. the pump is on the driver side, level sender on the passenger side. the pump has a venturi and crossover pipe to the other saddle.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well the next morning I started the car and it read full. Go figure. Is there a reason it didn't register till the next day.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Is this common with these cars? And how hard is it to change out? I've done this with others cars but older of course. I've never seen one go out on a newer car this early. Thanx.

·
Registered
542 Posts
common? no.
have seen it? yes.
difficult? no. it is installed with a ring like a fuel pump is, in an assembly that looks like a fuel pump basket.

as i said, its usually been an issue of showing higher fuel level due to the transfer mechanism not working right in moving fuel from the RH side where the sender is to the LH side where the pump is.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
My car is getting some paint work done this week.
Once I get it back I'll see what the pattern is.