Maserati Ghibli Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, newbie here. I live and work in Silicon Valley, Porsches, BMWs and Mercedes are a dime a dozen here. I want a car that will stand out a bit; for many years I've liked the Lotus Evora; sporty, fun to drive, and the +2 seats for the kids. In my mind Maserati's were beautiful cars, but out of range. Imagine my surprise when I opened autoblog last week to find a) The Maserati Ghibli excelled in the crash testing and b) it was priced in range.

I emailed Stevens Creek Maserati and asked if I could schedule a test drive. Kamal Massoudi handled my email requests, we scheduled a time for the RWD Ghibli. Black on Nero/Cuoio interior. Beautiful car. Comfortable inside, like a glove. Has creature comforts, but not overwhelming like the recent Porsches. The brakes were sensitive to me, but I picked up the correct modulation quickly enough. The brakes did have a squeal, Kamal joked 'Well, its a Maserati'. That went away after a good hard stop. Sport mode off, you hear the motor, but its not intrusive. Sport mode on, yes, there is something special going on. Acceleration is excellent, merging w/ onto the 280 highway was a breeze. Get off on Wolfe, suspension deals w/ the lousy cracked pavement without issue. Go down Pruneridge Ave. with its curves and really open it up, the Ghibli roars quickly to 90mph before I lift off throttle, wow! Tone it down, do some quick lane changes to see how it deals - it is a heavy car, but well poised, it doesn't feel like an older Mercedes boat when changing lanes quickly. Steering feel is good, communicates what the car intends to do, if that makes sense.

Returning to the dealership we toyed with the rest of the creature comforts; audio is nice, Sting plays clear through the speakers. Touchscreen is easy enough to control car functions. Center dash is Mercedes like in the data views (Speed, TPMS, etc.)