Maserati Ghibli Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I hope everyone is staying safe and healthy.

This is my first time posting in the forum and it sucks that it's with a problem. I just purchased my wheels last week, but my motor gave up on me two days before they arrived.

I currently own a 2015 SQ4, what a car! I absolutely love my car and wouldn't change it for anything. Unfortunately, the motor blew on me as per a mechanic that I have next to my office. Since I am out of warranty, this is something that will come out of pocket :(

I have found a few engines online, but not sure which way to go. Some people are telling me I can use a Ghibli engine, but that my oil pan and harness are different and some other guys are telling me that I need my specific motor.

Can someone please help me with this? I have absolutely no resources to go to. I came across a new motor and tranny this morning for a great price, I'm just scared to buy something that won't fit.

Please help.

Thank you guys.

Luis

·
Super Moderator
2,181 Posts
Might sound like a silly question, but what makes you think the engine is blown? Is the local mechanic going to install it for you?
The Ghibli and QP engine should fit providing you acquire the S or SQ4 engine. If your trying to put the lower horsepower RWD engine there are some changes like the oil pan that need to be addressed.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Might sound like a silly question, but what makes you think the engine is blown? Is the local mechanic going to install it for you?
The Ghibli and QP engine should fit providing you acquire the S or SQ4 engine. If your trying to put the lower horsepower RWD engine there are some changes like the oil pan that need to be addressed.