Maserati Ghibli Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new to the Ghibli Forum and just got my base Ghibli last weekend. It was with the base Nerissimo package and has the 20" gloss black Urano wheels. I bought the Maserati wheel locks right away as I've seen neighbors have their wheel stolen in the past. I got it as a daily driver and parked the car in the parking structure at my work for the first time yesterday. After I got home I noticed someone had stolen two of the valve caps off the wheels on the passenger side. I was extremely happy when I got the car but now I feel like it could become a burden to have with people doing this or have it be a threat for theft. Has anyone experienced something like this? Has anyone had their wheels stolen? Is the car easily stolen or a car that gets stolen a lot? Is there any pointers you can give to prevent this?

Thanks!

·
Administrator
2,245 Posts
It happens, but Ghibli theft / vandalism rates are similar to other cars in same regions/locatons.

The car has interior / exterior sensors that will trigger alarm for level, vibration/pressure and opening a door. Stealing emblems and valve covers is possible ... as is the "mad dash" break-in and run.

You hear more about pure vandalism ... key marks and etc...

Sorry to hear!!

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the response @BeerGuy! Are you saying theft rates are similar to other cars like BMWs, Benz's, etc? It makes me feel better that someone responded that nothing happened to their 22"s. My wife scolded me that the black rims makes the car a target but I think it's just the car itself.

·
Administrator
2,245 Posts
Yes ... similar theft rates to others you mention. Actually better than some of the everyday cars that have been modified with fancy wheels and attachments without the internal security measures of the Maserati, Merc, BMW, and etc.