Maserati Ghibli Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
480 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok guys I finally received my 2014 ghibli. I have had it for a couple of hours. First and foremost, I have a Maser-friggin-rati! >:D

Alright so now I am off the giddy wagon, I am not one to drink the kool-aid so I have some initial observations on the car's performance and the electronics. I'll try to be as brief and direct as possible and forgive me as I am not a mechanic so i may not refer to things the right way.

Driving: the car is extremely powerful. The 404 BHP and 406 lb ft torque is like taking off in a rocket. I never had such a powerful car. My previous most powerful car was a Mercedes Benz 400 E and I thought that was powerful. This Italian baby blows that old Teutonic house Frau out of the water!

The accelerator pedal is extremely sensitive and it is so easy to exceed the speed limit. The ride in ICE is smooth without giving up a sporty feel. sport mode is heaven. The car stiffens and the sound is symphonic. Driving home on the GSP was in ICE to see how gas mileage was affected. I guess before the engine is fully broken in it made little difference in each mode as to M p g as I averaged 15.8. If you have a heavy foot, you WILL speed and the car WILL drink heavily, but if you were worried about MPG.....get a Prius! Steering is extremely responsive and tightens at high speed. Reviewers in some circles criticize the hydraulic steering preferring electronic steering. I am not an F-1 driver and I felt in total control at all speeds with the steering.