Maserati Ghibli Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Having driven in 18 countries (and counting), I can say that drivers here in the US are "middle of the pack" when it comes to road etiquette and general adherence to the rules. The most aggressive countries/areas were undoubtedly in North Africa, Brazil (urban cities only), and (surprisingly) central Italy. The absolute slowest were in Western Canada (Vancouver, where I gave up driving due to lethargy and arrived faster by walking)(lol). If it matters, the most beautiful countries for drivers (aesthetic wise) are Switzerland and Chile.

---

Generally, I'm a relaxed driver. Never angry, never middlefingering anyone, etc. It's just not worth it.

"The weak man rages at small injustices, but remains completely silent in the face of large ones."
~ HarvardLlama

But obviously, there are times when I shake my head in disapproval. Here are 3 examples.

1) when I'm waiting to turn right, driver approaching from left planning to turn right (onto my road) but DOES NOT SIGNAL.
2) when light turns green and people wait forever to go. get off your phone. everyone can start moving TOGETHER.
3) when people slow down to merge. do you have a jacket? try the zipper. it works just as efficiently at ANY speed.

sort of a rant-ish post (I know), but maybe I'm expecting too much from the plebeian (non race car driving) public.

Happy 2019.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Funny thread to start. I wouldn't comment re: what type of driver I am myself (I wouldn't claim to be a good judge of that). My own 3 biggest are:

1/ On multiple-lane highways: the one who sticks to the fast lane and keeps driving slowly, takes a h..l of a time to overtake an even slower vehicle, and yet again a h..l of another time to move back into the slower lane (or actually never does…).

2/ The one who does not signal before moving to another lane (notably into the fast lane while still driving slow)